Harty Cup gets into gear with full opening round of group games

The 2017/2018 Dr Harty Cup gets into gear with full round of group games today.

It’s D-Day today as five post primary schools across Limerick get ready to put months of training and hard work into action as the opening round of group games gets underway.

Unlike some previous editions of the competition, this year’s format is a straightforward four groups of four teams with the top two sides qualifying for 1/4 finals.

Cork and Limerick lead with way with five representatives apiece while Tipperary has three, Waterford two and Clare with one.

The tie of the round from a Limerick point of view is most certainly the clash of John the Baptist Community School Hospital and Kilmallock’s Colaiste Iosaef. The Hospital were crowned Senior B champions last year and will no doubt prove tough opposition for any team. Throw in is 1:30pm in Bruff. 

Colaiste Iosaef, Kilmallock

Management – Cathal McNamara, Dan Hogan and Ger Barry.

Key men – Dylan O’Brien (Killmallock), James Conheady (Crecora), Danny O’Leary (Bruff).

2017 Finish – eliminated at the group stage.

Group Opponents- John The Baptist, St Colmans College Fermoy, Blackwater.

John The Baptist Community School

Management – James Devereux, Michael Martin and David Balfry.

Key men – Dylan O’Shea, Ryan Tobin (Garryspillane), Kevin Bonar (Bruff).

2017 Record – winners of All-Ireland Senior B Schools Hurling.

Group Opponents – Colaiste Iosef Kilmallock, St Colmans College Fermoy, Blackwater.

Ardscoil Ris

Ardscoil Rís – who have achieved all four of their wins since 2010 – take on  Charleville CBS in their opener in a re-run of the 2011 decider. The Cork side will be looking to avenge that occasion as they were simply no match for the Limerick side on the day. Ardscoil are the only current Limerick team in the competition to have actually claimed the Dr Harty Cup. Throw in is 1:30pm in Kilmallock.

Management – Derek Larkin & Liam Cronin.

Key men- Paul O’Brien & Rory Duff (Mungret/ St Pauls), Ronan Conolly (Adare), David Woulfe (Kilmallock), Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Rian Considine (Cratloe), Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe).

2017 Finish- Quarter Final, Lost in a reply against Midleton CBS.

Group opponents- Midleton CBS, Charleville CBS, De La Salle College Waterford.

Castletroy College

Castletroy College will look to get their campaign off to a winning start when they take on – 21 time champions – St Flannan’s of Ennis in the first round at Sixmilebridge, Co Clare, again with a 1:30pm throw in. Considering that the reigning Dr Croke Cup champions Our Lady’s, Templemore are also in the group, both Flannans and Castletroy will know the importance of an opening win.

Management – Liam Reale & Leonard Coughlan.

Key men – Sean O’Kane & Paul Power (Monaleen), Padraig Harnett (Ahane) and Diarmuid Hegarty (St Patricks), Brian Garry (South Liberties), Niall O’Brien (Broadford).

2017 Finish – knocked out by Nenagh CBS in round of 16.

Group Opponents – Our Lady’s Templemore, St Flannans, Cork CBS.

Scoil Na Trionoide Doon

Scoil Na Trionoide of Doon will start their quest to reignite the form of 2014 that saw them reach a first ever Harty Cup final only to be beaten by an Ardscoil Rís side very much at the peak of their powers. Doon take on Nenagh CBS in Newport with a throw in time of 1:30pm.

Management- Diarmuid McCarthy & Diarmuid Carr.

Key men- Jack Ryan & Bob Purcell (Doon), Brendan Murphy & Willie Barry (Cappawhite)  Jack Sheahan (Cappamore), David Fox (Annacarthy).

2017 Finish – knocked out by CBS Midleton in the last 16.

Group Opponents-Thurles CBS, Nenagh,  Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG Cork.



Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More

Confident Limerick march over Tipperary with third straight victory

Tom Clancy in Rathkeale Limerick 1-18Tipperary 1-10Limerick advanced to the last eight of the Tailteann Cup for the ...
Read More

Limerick’s road to the Munster SHC final | RECAP

This set up a three-peat Munster final with Clare, in Thurles on June 9th, while Cork come through ...
Read More

Goals key again as Limerick advance in Tailteann Cup

Limerick 2-14London 0-10 Two first-half goals, in the dying embers of the opening thirty-five minutes were the platform ...
Read More

Limerick name side for London Tailteann Cup clash | TEAM NEWS

Iain Corbett captains the side at half-back, with Barry Coleman on the other flank and Cillian Fahy in ...
Read More

“We’re still here” | John Kiely defiant after booking Munster final spot

Kiely said he was "delighted" that his team's "average performance level is up," but conceded that his players ...
Read More

Limerick march through to Munster final after Waterford success

Limerick reached a sixth Munster final in a row after eventually shaking off Waterford to defeat their Munster ...
Read More