Kennedy Cup 2017 kicks off at UL this afternoon

It’s that time of year again as the SFAI Umbro Kennedy Cup kicks off at the University of Limerick at 4pm.

The Kennedy Cup is one of the blue ribband event for U-14 competition in the country for inter-league teams with Limerick having three sides competing for honours.

Limerick District Schoolboy League (LDSL), the Limerick Desmond Schoolboy League and Limerick County Schoolboy League are among the 32 interleague teams taking part with the format similar to that of the 32 World Cup.

Each team will play three group games before the pool winners emerge to stay in contention for the Kennedy Cup proper. The second, third, and fourth placed teams enter the Plate, Bowl, or Shield competitions.

The tournament was first played in 1976 on a knockout basis but for the 1991 edition of the competition played in UCD – it changed to the more equitable group stage and knockout format to give teams more games. The tournament has run on this format ever since.

2016 Kennedy Cup Champions DDSL


Over the week, there will be a whopping 96 games, involving 640 players representing 32 inter league teams from across the country.

Another crucial part of the competition are the officials with 36 referees and match officials appointed across the week.

Running such a huge competition takes a lot of organisation and UL have proved to be the ideal hosts for the competition. All the players, team official and match officials are accommodated at UL Campus during the week and while ground staff will work tirelessly to keep the grass pitches in order, there is always the back up plan of the fantastic 4G surfaces on the North Campus should the rain put a damper on things.

While certainly not novices at helping the FAI to organise the competition, UL’s Dave Mahedy, David Ward, Terri Culligan and all the staff at the University ensure that everything is laid on for players, coaches, officials an spectators.

The DDSL are once again favourites and are going for their 30th title. All three Limerick sides kick off their campaigns 4pm on Monday. Limerick District play the Athlone League, with Limerick County, who are in the same group as the LDSL, taking on Wexford. The Desmond League will open their campaign agains Carlow.

A full list of the Kennedy Cup Fixtures can be found by clicking here.

LIMERICK COUNTY KENNEDY CUP: Finn Clancy (Holycross); Sean O’Neill (Kilmallock); Tiernan Hanley (Charleville); Diarmuid Looby (Cullen); Eoin McGrath (Kilfrush); Ben Murphy (Cullen); David Curtin (Herbertstown); Conor Hanlon (Charleville); Jay Ryan (Murroe); Kyle Tierney (Holycross); Stephen Walsh (Charleville); Seanie Herr (Charleville); Jake Quirke (Charleville); Zach McCarthy (Kilbehenny); Ciaran Kennedy (Cappamore); Paddy Kennedy (Galbally); Darragh O’Brien (Cullen); Harry Fox (Herbertstown); Noah Patterson (Holycross); Andrew Kearns (Herbertstown) Management: Head of Delegation: Dave Shanahan (Charleville); Manager: Ray Ryan (Murroe); Head Coach: Shane Ryan (Cappamore); Coach: Eoghan O’Donnell (Knockainey)

LIMERICK DESMOND KENNEDY CUP: Joey Rushe (AK Utd); Gary Sheehan (AK Utd); Conor Arthur (AK Utd); Jack O’Connor (AK Utd); Ethan Hurley (Newcastlewest AFC); Oisin Enright (Newcastlewest AFC) Leon Barry (Newcastlewest AFC); Jack O’Connor (Newcastlewest AFC); Ciarain O’Sullivan (Broadford Utd); Thomas Curran (Broadford Utd); Rob Szebeni (Broadford Utd); Kenny Lynch (Broadford Utd); Niall O’Connor (Shannonside); Jake Power (Shannonside); David O’Shaughnessy (Askeaton); Oran Kelly (Pallaskenry); Sean Ryan (Kilcoleman); Mike Molloy (Ballingarry); Jack Molloy (Ballingarry); Zach Behan (GB Rovers). Manager: John Fennessy (Shannonside); Coaches: Ed Gallagher (Ballysteen); Ray Lynch (Broadford Utd); Eunan McDaid (Shannonside); Goalkeeper Coach: Franny Walshe (AK United).

LIMERICK DISTRICT KENNEDY CUP: Elvis Uzondu Duruji (Regional Utd); Kai Joyce (Limerick FC); Ronan O’Dwyer (Caherdavin Celtic); Conor Keane (Fairview Rangers); Wassiou Ayawe (Limerick FC); Josh Quinlivan (Limerick FC); Gary O’Halloran (Limerick FC); Jake Prendergast (Limerick FC); Riain O’Connell (Fairview Rangers); Fionn O’Dwyer (Regional Utd); Josh Twomey (Fairview Rangers); Ger Quaid (Limerick FC); Eoin Guilfoyle (Newport); Josh Shinners (Limerick FC); Eoghan Burke (Aisling Annacotty); Cian Fitzgerald (Caherdavin Celtic); Adam Cummins (Aisling Annacotty); Andri Haxhiji (Limerick FC); Cillian O’Shea (Fairview Rangers); James Killian (Mungret Regional); Management: Head of Delegation: Paddy Murphy; Manager: Declan EarlsCoach; Sean Maloney; Coach: Declan Considine; Coach: Alan Mitchell; Physio; Jimmy McNamara.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Raffaele Rocca