Kilkenny too strong for Limerick in Camogie Championship opener

Limerick 0-4
Kilkenny 1-19

By Tom Clancy at Mick Neville Park

Limerick’s Senior Camogie side fell to a disappointing 18-point reverse at the hands of Kilkenny in the Glen Dimplex All Ireland Senior Camogie Championship. While there is still four further games in the group phase, the manner of the defeat will concern the team.

There was a red card shown to Caoimhe Costelloe in the third-third quarter, which compounded the earlier injury to Dearbhla Egan – who was stretchered off with a suspected dislocated collar bone. The Crecora star only lasted nine minutes before she suffered the injury.

Limerick didn’t score from play over the hour, with a brace of frees from Costelloe in the first half added to by a pair from Rebecca Delee. Kilkenny held all the aces in attack. There was a debut for Poppy Giltenane for the Treaty, and her directness had earned one of those frees.

By the time the half-time whistle sounded, it was 0-10 to 0-2 with Katie Nolan, Aoife Prendergast aand Miriam Bambrick all on target for the visitors.

They swelled the margin further and when Steffi Fitzgerld drilled home a goal, the result was confirmed. Kilkenny dominated in all sectors leaving Joe Quaid with plenty of food for thought ahead of round two.

Limerick return to action away to Waterford, next Saturday. The Déise were beaten in last years All-Ireland decider, by Cork. This group also contains Derry, Antrim and Tipperary.

Meanwhile the Limerick Junior side collected their first win, defeating Mayo 3-20 to 0-2.

Scorers for Limerick:
Caoimhe Costelloe 0-2 (0-2 frees); Rebecca Delee 0-2 (0-2 frees);

Scorers for Kilkenny:
Aoife Prendergast 0-5 (0-5 frees); Katie Nolan 0-4 (0-1 free); Aoife Doyle 0-3; Steffi Fitzgerald 1-0; Asha McHardy 0-2; Juilanne Malone 0-2; Miriam Bambrick 0-1; Miriam Walsh 0-1; Laura Murphy 0-1.

Ciara Mulqueen (Crecora); Tersa Dore (Patrickswell), Marian Quaid (Bruff), Cliodhna Ryan (Doon); Ciara O’Riordan (Blackrock/Effin), Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), Sophie O’Callaghan (Adare); Orlaith Kelleher (Croagh Kilfinny), Dearbhla Egan (Crecora); Ailbhe Larkin (Mungret St. Paul’s), Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), Stephanie Woulfe (Templegalntine); Caoimhe Costelloe (Adare), Lizanna Boyan (Na Piarsaigh), Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen).

Subs: Poppy Giltenane (Adare) for Egan (injury – 15); Aine Reynolds (Ahane) for Ryan (half-time), Aoife Nelligan (Monaleen) for O’Riordan (half-time); Laura Fennelly (Cappamore) for Woulfe (47).

Aoife Norris (Piltown); Michelle Teehan (James Stephens), Grace Walsh (Tullaroan), Katie(Dicksboro), Tiffaine Fitzgerald (Young Irelands), Niamh Deely (James Stephens) Mirima Bambrick (Barrow Rangers); Laura Greene (O’Loughlin Gaels), Laura Murphy (O’Loughlin Gaels); Katie Nolan (St. Martin’s), Katie Power (Piltown), Aoife Doyle (Piltown); Julianne Malone (Mullinavat), Miriam Walsh (Tullaroan), Aoife Prendergast (Dicksoro).

Subs: Sarah Barcoe (Thomastown) for M Walsh (27); Steffi Fitzgerald for Greene (43), Asha McHardy for Prendergast (47), Laura Norris for Byrne (52), Sophie O’Dwyer for Teehan (55).

Referee: Cathal McAllistar (Cork)

Social Sharing

Posted in ,

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More

Confident Limerick march over Tipperary with third straight victory

Tom Clancy in Rathkeale Limerick 1-18Tipperary 1-10Limerick advanced to the last eight of the Tailteann Cup for the ...
Read More

Limerick’s road to the Munster SHC final | RECAP

This set up a three-peat Munster final with Clare, in Thurles on June 9th, while Cork come through ...
Read More

Goals key again as Limerick advance in Tailteann Cup

Limerick 2-14London 0-10 Two first-half goals, in the dying embers of the opening thirty-five minutes were the platform ...
Read More

Limerick name side for London Tailteann Cup clash | TEAM NEWS

Iain Corbett captains the side at half-back, with Barry Coleman on the other flank and Cillian Fahy in ...
Read More

“We’re still here” | John Kiely defiant after booking Munster final spot

Kiely said he was "delighted" that his team's "average performance level is up," but conceded that his players ...
Read More

Limerick march through to Munster final after Waterford success

Limerick reached a sixth Munster final in a row after eventually shaking off Waterford to defeat their Munster ...
Read More