Limerick defeated by Tipperary in McGrath Cup

Tipperary 1-11
Limerick 0-10

Limerick suffered their second defeat of the McGrath Cup campaign, after failing to get near top form against Tipperary in Templetuohy.

After a heavy defeat to Kerry last weekend, this was an opportunity for Jimmy Lee to get a maiden victory in charge of Limerick. But, a late Luke Shanahan goal meant Limerick would never lead and despite being within touching distance for long periods, they seemed second best for much of this contest.

There was a handful of new faces in the Limerick panel, with Jamie Baynham, Darragh O’Hagan and Shane Doherty all introduced from the bench, while Shane Costello was included from the start.

Trailing 0-5 to 0-4 at half-time, Limerick managed just one score from play in the opening stanza. Robbie Childs’ fine team score was added to by three frees from James Naughton.

For Tipperary, Steven O’Brien gave them the interval lead, with earlier scores from Paddy Creedon, Sean O’Connor and goalkeeper, Evan Comerford.

Cillian Fahy moved Limerick to within a point at the three-quarter mark, while scores down the stretch, from Daniel Daly (mark), Naughton (free) and Baynham weren’t enough.

Luke Shanahan’s late goal put daylight between these sides, the final competitive outing for these teams ahead of the Allianz National Football League, where the Treaty commence with a tie against Antrim, in Mick Neville Park, on January 28th.

The final of the McGrath Cup will see Kerry meet rivals Cork.

Scorers for Tipperary: Luke Shanahan 1-1 (0-1 free);Sean O’Connor 0-3; Evan Comerford 0-2 (0-1 free, 0-1 ’45); Steven O’Brien 0-2 (0-1 ‘45), Paddy Creedon, Kyle Shelly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick:
James Naughton 0-5 (frees) Robbie Childs; Cillian Fahy, Daniel Daly (mark), Diarmuid Kelly (free), Jamie Baynham 0-1 each.

Evan Comerford; E Maloney, Jimmy Feehan, James Morris; Luke Boland, Stephen Grogan, Kieran Costello; Teddy Doyle, Steven O’Brien; Shane Neville, Conor Cadell, Cathal Deeley; Conal Kennedy, Paddy Creedon, Seán O’Connor.

Jack Rogers for Comerford (inj – 15 mins); Rory O’Dowd for Doyle, Luke Shanahan for Creedon, Mark Stokes for Kennedy (all 46 mins); Michael Barlow for O’Connor (54 mins); Kyle Shelly for Cadell (59 mins).

Jeffrey Alfred; Jim Liston, Seán O’Dea, Colm McSweeney; Robbie Childs, Iain Corbett (C), Paul Maher; Tommie Childs, Tommy Griffin, Andrew Meade, James Naughton, Barry Coleman; Peter Nash, Cillian Fahy, Shane Costello.

Daniel Daly for Costello (half-time); Darragh O’Hagan for Griffin (45 mins); Cormac Woulfe for McSweeney (48 mins); Diarmuid Kelly for Nash (55 mins); Tony McCarthy for T Childs, Shane Doherty for Liston (both 59 mins); Jamie Baynam for Meade (65 mins).

Eoin Morrissey (Waterford)

Social Sharing

Posted in ,

Sadness at passing of former Limerick GAA County Board Chairman

The high point of his career in GAA administration came when he was elected chairman of Limerick County ...
Read More

Limerick v Tipperary | Last Five Championship Clashes | 2019-’23

Under John Kiely, Limerick have dominated the fixtures between the Munster rivals, winning four of the last five ...
Read More

“We know how to finish the game” | Gearóid Hegarty speaks after Clare Man of the Match display

It was Hegarty who landed the Man of the Match crown, hitting three points while being instrumental in ...
Read More

“We felt quite comfortable in the end” | John Kiely speaks after Limerick’s Clare comeback kicks off Munster campaign

The second half introductions of Ó Dálaigh, Adam English and Conor Boylan were, in Kiely's words, "pivotal" in ...
Read More

Limerick name team for Munster Hurling Championship opener | TEAM NEWS

The Shannonsiders carry immense threat in the corners, with Hurler of the Year Aaron Gillane named in one, ...
Read More

Limerick name minor hurling team for Clare clash | TEAM NEWS

Diarmuid Hurley is named at 14, joined by Danny Sheehan and Malachy McKenna in the inside-forward line. Limerick ...
Read More

Ambrose, Lee and Murphy in Division 4 Team of the Year

The Limerick trio join six Carlow representatives in the side, alongside a Leitrim trio and a Fermanagh pair. ...
Read More

Limerick v Clare | Last Five Championship Clashes 2020-’23

With pride at stake when the old rivals meet on April 21, we look back at their five ...
Read More