Limerick FC defeat Janesboro to win 2017 Sporting Limerick Charity Cup

Limerick FC defeat Janesboro to win Sporting Limerick Charity Cup.

Limerick FC lifted the Sporting Limerick Charity Cup at the Markets Field this evening following a comprehensive 8-2 victory over Limerick District League Champions Janesboro.

Goals from Ian Turner, Chris Mulhall (2), Garbhan Coughlan (2), Clyde O’Connell and Adam Foley (2) secured the win for the Super Blues. Janesboro’s goals were scored by captain Shane Clarke and Ben Quirke.

The crowd had no time to settle in the Markets Field before the opening goal was scored. Former Limerick FC player and current Janesboro captain Shane Clarke won a physical dual with 17-year old centre-back Tomas O’Connor before slotting the ball past Tommy Holland. Limerick responded with a shot from Sean McSweeney which was easily held by John Mulready.

The District League champions almost doubled their lead as John Connery crossed to the back post but Shane Clarke guided his header wide.

Immediately, Shane O’Hanlon’s side were made to pay as Ian Turner cut inside Junior international Danny O’Neill before unleashing a shot which evaded the grasp of John Mulready via a deflection. Janesboro almost regained the lead as the lively John Connery forced a super save from Tommy Holland in the Limerick goal.

Shortly afterwards, the Airtricity League club took the lead. Sean McSweeney released Garbhan Coughlan in behind the back four and the former Regional man skipped past John Mulready before squaring for Chris Mulhall to finish from close range.

Both teams served up entertaining game

Janesboro began the second period with a real purpose and drew level after a byline cross by John Connery allowed Ben Quirke to capitalise on some slack Limerick defending to tap in at the back post. Limerick quickly regained the lead when Chris Mulhall converted a penalty kick which was awarded after goalkeeper Stephen McNamara fouled the scorer.

Limerick doubled their lead as Clyde O’Connell punished Janesboro’s inability to clear a Stephen Kenny corner by smashing the ball into the roof of the net. Limerick winger Liam McCartan was instrumental in the creation of the Shannonsiders fifth goal. McCartan beat three players before seeing his shot saved by McNamara.

However, Adam Foley was their to score the rebound. Garbhan Coughlan grabbed his first goal of the evening as he finished off a flowing move involving Karl O’Sullivan and Adam Foley. Coughlan doubled his account as he finished off a perfectly waited through ball by Karl O’Sullivan to make it 7-2.

With the final whistle approaching, Foley scored his second of the game as he burst passed the challenge of Lee O’Mara before placing his shot past the helpless Stephen McNamara.

Both teams provided a goalfest on an enjoyable evening for all those in attendance.

Limerick FC: Tommy Holland, Shane Costelloe, Tomas O’Connor, Killian Brouder, Shane Tracy (Alan Murphy H/T), Shane Duggan (Clyde O’Connell H/T), Sean McSweeney (Karl O’Sullivan 75), Ian Turner (Joel Coustrain H/T), Stephen Kenny (Liam McCartan 60), Garbhan Coughlan, Chris Mulhall (Adam Foley 60).

Subs not used: Carl Williams (GK)

Janesboro: John Mulready (Stephen McNamara), Danny O’Neill (Robert Lowe 70), Lee O’Mara, Richie Mullins (Jason Cross 65), Aled Harkin (Ben Quirke H/T), Aidan Hurley (Jamie O’Sullivan 56), Thomas Lyons (David Donnan H/T), Michael Ryan, Adrian Power (Evan Lynch 65), John Connery (Conor Lynch 70), Shane Clarke (Kevin Barry 59).

All subs used.

Referee: Robert Hennessy

Sporting Limerick Man of the Match: Garbhan Coughlan

Social Sharing

Posted in

Tributes continue to pour in as FAI open online book of condolence for Jack Charlton

Last Saturday, the country lost a sporting hero as Jack Chrlton sadly passed away at the age of ...
Read More

FAI Announce Return Dates for Airtricity Underage League

The FAI have announced that the Airtricity League underage seasons will begin in August following a long lay-off ...
Read More

More Transfer Activity in Limerick Junior Soccer

As the Limerick District League resumption is only four and a half weeks away, Premier Division clubs are ...
Read More

How has ‘Project Restart’ affected Premier League teams?

The Premier League returned on 17 June but the goals were a couple of weeks late. There were ...
Read More

Colbert Adds High Profile Signings to Prospect Squad

Prospect Priory FC manager Wayne Colbert has added three players to his squad ahead of the 2020/2021 Limerick ...
Read More

REPORT: FAI looking into eligibility of former Limerick FC star

Fomer Limerick FC star Chiedozie Ogbene could represent Ireland in the future after expressing his desire to represent ...
Read More

Pike Confirm Additions of Grant and Collopy

Pike Rovers have continued their recruitment drive ahead of the 2020/2021 season with the additions of former Janesboro ...
Read More

Hanlon joins O’Neill in Signing for Pike

Former Limerick FC striker Kieran Hanlon has signed for Pike Rovers and is now re-united with former Limerick ...
Read More