Limerick name team for Wicklow football league crunch fixture | TEAM NEWS

Lee’s men have fallen to defeats to Antrim, Sligo, Down, Westmeath and Clare so far, and need to beat Wicklow to have any hope of avoiding relegation.

Limerick football boss Jimmy Lee has named his starting XV as his travel to take on Wicklow in the Allianz Football League on Saturday.

The action is set to kick off at 3pm in Echelon Park, with the Shannonsiders still in search of their first victory of the 2024 league campaign.

Lee’s men have fallen to defeats to Antrim, Sligo, Down, Westmeath and Clare so far, and need to beat Wicklow to have any hope of avoiding relegation.

Iain Corbett captains the side from half-back with Cillian Fahy taking over at six.

Aaron O’Sullivan is set to start in goal while Darren O’Doherty, Sean O’Dea and Colm McSweeney complete the full-backline in front of him.

Captain Corbett starts as half-back, with Barry Coleman on the other side of Fahy. Tommy Childs partners Emmet Rigter in midfield.

Paul Maher is named at half-forward, lining out alongside Cathal Downes and Robbie Childs, while Peter Nash and Jamie Baynham complete a full-forward line that sees James Naughton named at 14.

Limerick team to play Wicklow:

  1. Aaron O’Sullivan
  2. Darren O’Doherty
  3. Sean O’Dea
  4. Colm McSweeney
  5. Barry Coleman
  6. Cillian Fahy
  7. Iain Corbett (C)
  8. Tommy Childs
  9. Emmet Rigter
  10. Robbie Childs
  11. Cathal Downes
  12. Paul Maher
  13. Jamie Baynham
  14. James Naughton
  15. Peter Nash

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Sadness at passing of former Limerick GAA County Board Chairman

The high point of his career in GAA administration came when he was elected chairman of Limerick County ...
Read More

Limerick v Tipperary | Last Five Championship Clashes | 2019-’23

Under John Kiely, Limerick have dominated the fixtures between the Munster rivals, winning four of the last five ...
Read More

“We know how to finish the game” | Gearóid Hegarty speaks after Clare Man of the Match display

It was Hegarty who landed the Man of the Match crown, hitting three points while being instrumental in ...
Read More

“We felt quite comfortable in the end” | John Kiely speaks after Limerick’s Clare comeback kicks off Munster campaign

The second half introductions of Ó Dálaigh, Adam English and Conor Boylan were, in Kiely's words, "pivotal" in ...
Read More

Limerick name team for Munster Hurling Championship opener | TEAM NEWS

The Shannonsiders carry immense threat in the corners, with Hurler of the Year Aaron Gillane named in one, ...
Read More

Limerick name minor hurling team for Clare clash | TEAM NEWS

Diarmuid Hurley is named at 14, joined by Danny Sheehan and Malachy McKenna in the inside-forward line. Limerick ...
Read More

Ambrose, Lee and Murphy in Division 4 Team of the Year

The Limerick trio join six Carlow representatives in the side, alongside a Leitrim trio and a Fermanagh pair. ...
Read More

Limerick v Clare | Last Five Championship Clashes 2020-’23

With pride at stake when the old rivals meet on April 21, we look back at their five ...
Read More