Limerick pair chosen on Hurling Team of the Week after Thurles stalemate

The Ahane native had Limerick’s final point of the day that looked like the winner only for John McGrath to level with the last puck of the game.

Limerick duo Tom Morrissey and Cathal O’Neill have been selected on the Hurling Team of the Week following the penultimate round of the Munster SHC.

Both were named from the start as Limerick and Tipperary played out a 0-25 apiece draw to take the championship standings to the final round of games next week.

Morrissey was in scintillating form as he continued an incredible start to the 2023 championship with 0-4 from play whilst also coming up big with a number of plays. The Ahane native had Limerick’s final point of the day that looked like the winner only for John McGrath to level with the last puck of the game.

O’Neill, who was a late replacement for Peter Casey, had a coming of age game with five points from play including a pair right after the resumption when Limerick took the lead for only the second time.

21 May 2023; Tom Morrissey of Limerick celebrates after scoring a late second half point during the Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship Round 4 match between Tipperary and Limerick at FBD Semple Stadium in Thurles, Tipperary. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Limerick’s opponents Tipperary have four players selected to the team of the week with Jake Morris nominated for the Player of the Week award. He will be up against Diarmaid Ryan, who was the match winner for Clare against Cork in Ennis and Niall Mitchell of Westmeath who bagged a brace in their incredible win over Wexford.

Elsewhere, Galway and Cork are also represented in the team. Hurling Team of the Week

  1. Niall County (Westmeath)
  2. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)
  3. Gearoid McInerney (Galway)
  4. David McInerney (Clare)
  5. Diarmaid Ryan (Clare)
  6. Christopher Joyce (Cork)
  7. Dan McCormack (Tipperary)
  8. Noel McGrath (Tipperary)
  9. Tom Morrissey (Limerick)
  10. Niall O’Brien (Westmeath)
  11. Conor Cooney (Westmeath)
  12. Cathal O’Neill (Limerick)
  13. Jake Morris (Tipperary)
  14. Niall Mitchell (Westmeath)
  15. Tony Kelly (Clare)

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Limerick name team for Munster Hurling Championship opener | TEAM NEWS

The Shannonsiders carry immense threat in the corners, with Hurler of the Year Aaron Gillane named in one, ...
Read More

Limerick name minor hurling team for Clare clash | TEAM NEWS

Diarmuid Hurley is named at 14, joined by Danny Sheehan and Malachy McKenna in the inside-forward line. Limerick ...
Read More

Ambrose, Lee and Murphy in Division 4 Team of the Year

The Limerick trio join six Carlow representatives in the side, alongside a Leitrim trio and a Fermanagh pair. ...
Read More

Limerick v Clare | Last Five Championship Clashes 2020-’23

With pride at stake when the old rivals meet on April 21, we look back at their five ...
Read More

ODDS | Limerick favourites to retain Munster hurling crown

The Treaty are the favourites for the 2024 title, the bookies fancying their chances of making it six ...
Read More

Shane Dowling’s Limerick Minors to face Cork | TEAM NEWS

Liam O'Connor partners joint-captain Cosgrave in midfield, with Eoghan Maher named just ahead at centre-forward. Limerick Minor hurling ...
Read More

Limerick make changes to U20 hurling side for Tipperary meeting | TEAM NEWS

Joe Fitzgerald moves to midfield to partner Con Hayes, with Fintan Fitzgerald named just ahead at centre-forward. Limerick ...
Read More

Limerick name U20 football team for Munster ‘B’ final | TEAM NEWS

Jack Somers starts at centre-back, with Whelan and Michael Kilbridge either side of him. Darragh Murray partners Josh ...
Read More