Limerick SHC Round 2 Review

Limerick SHC Round 2 review with Weekly Observer’s Matt O’Callaghan.

Na Piarsaigh were the big winners from round 2 of the Limerick SHC, overcoming reigning county champions Patrickswell in the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday night. With a break now to come to allow for the Munster hurling and football championships, teams will have time to assess the opening two weeks and progress.

Group 1

On Friday evening Doon made it two wins from two, comprehensively beating Bruff 4-24 to 2-13. Pat Ryan scored two early goals to give Doon a commanding 3-12 to 1-1o.

Darragh O’Donovan scoring Doon’s third against Bruff, who were reduced to 14 men before the half. Bruff had no response in the second half for Doon who stormed to a 17-point victory with Darragh Stapleton scoring their 4th goal.

Kilmallock picked up their second victory on Saturday evening overcoming a stubborn South Liberties by 3-18 to 3-14. Graham Mulcahy and Gavin O’Mahony goaled for the Balbec in the opening half to give them a 7-point, 2-8 to 0-7 lead at the break.

South Liberties hit back however and goals from Brian Ryan and Shane Kilcoyne reduced the deficit to 2-11 to 2-9 with 15 minutes remaining.

South Liberties took the lead entering the final 10 minutes through a Shane Garry goal. Yet, Ciaran O’Connor would have the final say, goaling to give the Balbec the win.

In the other game in group 1 Ballybrown and Ahane played out an entertaining draw in the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday. Ahane took a two point lead into the break with them, finding themselves 0-10 to 0-8 ahead.

Niall Moran consolidated their lead early in the second half with a well taken goal. Yet, Ballybrown courtesy of Alan O’Connor and his free taking accuracy pulled Ballybrown back into the game and levelled late on with his 14th point of the day.

Group 2

Na Piarsaigh layed down a marker on Saturday evening, comfortably disposing of county champions Patrickswell 3-18 to 1-15. David Dempsey and Lar Considine traded goals in the opening half which saw the Well take a 1-8 to 1-6 advantage into the break.

A Kevin Ryan goal with 15 minutes remaining pulled NAP 2-13 to 1-12 ahead. A late Adrian Breen goal secured the win for the 2015 County Champions.

Monaleen got their opening win of the season against fellow promoted side Cappamore on Saturday evening in Caherconlish winning on a scoreline of 3-16 to 1-14. Cappamore started the brighter and were ahead 0-5 to 0-1 before John Nicholas goaled for Monaleen.

Cappamore still lead by two on 23 minutes before Monaleen blitzed them for 2-6 before the half to give them a 3-8 to 0-7 advantage. Cappamore rallied in the second but Monaleen’s victory never looked in doubt.

Adare also got their first victory of their campaign beating Knockainey 0-15 to 1-7 on Sunday afternoon. The sides were level three times in the opening half as neither side could get a grip on the game.

At half time the sides were deadlocked at 0-6 to 1-3 with Knockainey scoring the goal. Adare, with the introduction of Declan Hannon would press harder in the second half and scored 5 on the bounce to open the second half and eased to a 5 point win.

You can hear the full review of Round 2 of the Limerick SHC with the Weekly Observer’s Matt O’Callaghan on the link below. 


Social Sharing

Posted in

FIXTURES | Second Round of games set for 3Dental Ladies Football Championships

The second round of the 3Dental senior, intermediate, junior A and junior B championships take place across the ...
Read More

Treaty Talk EP195 | Club Hurling Championship Second Round Review & 2022 Top 10 Hurlers

Episode 195 of the podcast has a special guest with Matt O'Callaghan on holidays. Jack Neville is joined ...
Read More

PREVIEW | Newcastle West and Monaleen prepare for fascinating battle in Premier Intermediate Championship

The Rathkeale of the clash is the third of four games in the championship this weekend. Monaleen and ...
Read More

HIGHLIGHTS | Bruff overcome sloppy start to see of Dromin Athlacca in PIHC

Bruff and Dromin Athlacca played out an entertaining game in front of the Limerick GAA TV cameras on ...
Read More

Sporting Limerick to livestream legends charity clash between Tipperary and Limerick

The game takes place on Saturday afternoon in Boher with all proceeds going to Crumlin Children's hospital. "Old ...
Read More

PIHC Preview | All eight sides in action as round three set to take place in heatwave this weekend

The PIHC will be the only Limerick hurling championship taking place this weekend. As the football championship returns ...
Read More

Limerick native set for Meath Hurling manager’s job

The Bruff man will be taking over his first managerial role at the Leinster county. Limerick's Seoirse Bulfin ...
Read More

Talking Points | Doon and the ‘Well back on track, Na Piarsaigh statement, Ballybrown on fire | Limerick SHC Round Two

Two teams remain undefeated after a pair of rounds in the top tier of Limerick hurling. After missing ...
Read More