Munster add out-half to Champions Cup squad

Munster Academy out-half Ben Healy has been nominated by Head Coach Johann van Graan to the province’s Champions Cup squad ahead of Saturday’s competition opener away to Ospreys.

Pending IRFU approval, Healy will be swapped in for Alex Wootton.

Munster Rugby Squad Training, UL, Limerick 21/10/2019 Ben Healy Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Healy is a former Nenagh Ormond and Glenstal Abbey man and plays his club rugby with Garryowen. He helped the Ireland U20s to the Grand Slam last year.

Healy will become the third Greencore Munster Rugby Academy player registered in the 41-man squad, joining prop Keynan Knox and back-row forward Jack O’Sullivan.

Munster Rugby Squad Training, UL, Limerick 24/9/2019 Ben Healy and Rory Scannell Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Munster will face Saracens, Racing 92 and Ospreys in the Pool stages of the 2019/20 Champions Cup with some mouthwatering Pool games to be played over the next three months.

The registration of incoming Swap Players can be reversed before Thursday, March 26, 2020. Each player can only replace the player who was initially nominated as his incoming Swap Player.

Each club may also register up to five Additional Players during the pool stages, but none during the knockout stages, each to replace a player previously registered. A minimum of three Additional Players must be front row players.

For the knockout stages, clubs can add up to three players to supplement their squads.

Champions Cup Squad

Forwards: James Cronin, Dave Kilcoyne, Jeremy Loughman, Liam O’Connor, Rhys Marshall, Kevin O’Byrne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, Keynan Knox, John Ryan, Tadhg Beirne, Billy Holland, Jed Holloway, Jean Kleyn, Darren O’Shea, Fineen Wycherley, Arno Botha, Chris Cloete, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue, Peter O’Mahony, Jack O’Sullivan, CJ Stander.

Backs: Mike Haley, Andrew Conway, Shane Daly, Keith Earls, Calvin Nash, Darren Sweetnam, Sammy Arnold, Chris Farrell, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Tyler Bleyendaal, Joey Carbery, JJ Hanrahan, Ben Healy, Neil Cronin, Alby Mathewson, Nick McCarthy, Conor Murray.

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: Munster team Manager Niall O’Donovan provides squad update

Munster Rugby Team Manager Niall O’Donovan is the High Performance Centre’s designated COVID-19 Manager and he has provided ...
Read More

IRFU announce plans for 2020/21 club season

The Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU) have released their plans for the 2020/21 club season. In a statement ...
Read More

WATCH: RG Snyman gives first interview as Munster player

World Cup winner RG Snyman has given his first interview since joining Munster earlier this summer. The second-row ...
Read More

Munster’s classic with the All Blacks from 2008 to be shown on RTE tonight

RTÉ are set to show Munster's classic game against the All Blacks in 2008 at 11:25 pm tonight. ...
Read More

Carbery remains the best option to help Munster end drought

JOEY CARBERY has played 17 times for Munster since his acrimonious move south in the summer of 2018. ...
Read More

The Breakdown EP139: Barrett’s move, Sheridan’s appointment and return of the Pro 14

In this week's podcast, Matt and Tom look at Beauden Barrett's upcoming move to Japan as well as ...
Read More

Cathal Sheridan “It Was a No Brainer When the Opportunity Came Up”

Cathal Sheridan has expressed his delight in returning to sport after his appointment as Director of Rugby at ...
Read More

Alex Wootton joins Connacht on season-long loan deal

Munster Rugby have today confirmed that winger Alex Wootton will join Connacht on a season-long loan deal ...
Read More