Post Primary School’s Titles renamed in honour of two Limerick greats

Comhairle Iar Bhunscoileanna Na Mumhan hosted the launch of six new trophies for Munster GAA Post Primary Schools competitions last week.

Liam Kennedy and Gerry Bennis’ immense contribution to school’s hurling seen both honoured with Post Primary School’s trophies renamed in their honour.

The Corn Liam Ó Cinnéide will be presented to the winners of the U19 E Hurling Championship while the victors of the U16.5 E Hurling championship will receive the Corn Gearóid Ó Beinéid.

Liam Kennedy was a Kilruane MacDonagh’s native where he attended both Nenagh CBS and UCC Cork. He took up a teaching post in Ard Scoil Ris, Limerick in 1978 and was instrumental in promoting hurling in the school from the outset and his work came to fruition when the school won the 2008 Dean Ryan Cup followed by successes in the Harty Cup and White Cup.

Kennedy was heavily involved with Na Piarsaigh GAA Club in Limerick City and was Club Treasurer at the time of his untimely passing. Known affectionately as the Grandfather of Hurling in Ard Scoil Ris, he played a crucial role in sowing the seeds for the Croke Cup success by the Limerick City school earlier this year.

17 March 2022; Ardscoil Rís joint-captains Shane O’Brien, left, and Vince Harrington lift the cup after their side’s victory in the Masita GAA Hurling All Ireland Post Primary Schools Croke Cup Final match between Ardscoil Rís, Limerick, and St Kieran’s College, Kilkenny, at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Gerry Bennis came from a well-known hurling family in Patrickswell and gave great service to his club as a player and administrator. He was also involved with Limerick GAA in many roles, serving as Limerick County Board Chairman in the 1990s.

Bennis was heavily involved in the rejuvenation of the colleges competition in Limerick and held the position of Post Primary Schools Servicing Officer in Limerick for many years. His dedication in this role was exceptional which benefitted many young players at Club, Primary School and Post Primary Schools levels.

Comhairle Iar Bhunscoileanna Na Mumhan hosted the launch of six new trophies for Munster GAA Post Primary Schools competitions on Friday November 25th in Mallow GAA Complex.

20 of the 30 competitions organised by Comhairle Iar Bhunscoileanna Na Mumhan were renamed in 2014 while the Dr. Harty Cup, Corn Ui Mhuiri, Dean Ryan Cup and Frewen Cup have remained in place.

The six new trophies will be presented to the Munster GAA Post Primary Schools winners of Under 19 E Hurling, Under 16.5 E Hurling, Under 15 E Hurling, Under 19 E Football, Under 16.5 E Football and Under 15 E Football.

John Stack, Micheal Forrestal, Colm Kirwan and Sean Aherne was also honoured.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Derry prove too strong for Limerick in NFL opener

Derry 0-16Limerick 0-4By Tom Clancy in OwenbegDerry proved too strong for Derry in the Allianz Football League Division ...
Read More

Brilliant Bruff defeat Thurles Sarsfields to claim Munster Junior B Championship title

The Tipperary outfit had a goal from an All-Ireland winner in the second half but Bruff replied excellently ...
Read More

Pa Ranahan | It’s a free swing in these early games, why not swing for the fences!

“Be careful what you wish for.” Those were the words of former manager Billy Lee in an interview ...
Read More

Preview | Limerick make long-awaited return to Division 2 of the NFL with trip to Derry

Limerick will end a fifteen year wait to play in the top two tiers of National League football ...
Read More

O’Neill and Coughlan among the scorers as UL ease past TUS and into Fitzgibbon quarters

Brian Ryan’s side are the defending champions and are seeking a third title since 2018. UL booked a ...
Read More

TEAM | Limerick start a pair of League debutants for Division 2 return against Derry

Limerick were beaten by Cork in the McGrath Cup final last Friday night ahead of their return to ...
Read More

UL paired with reigning champions University of Galway in Sigerson Cup quarter-final

The game is a repeat of last year's final where the Galway side were crowned champions for the ...
Read More

Limerick rivals UL and TUS Midwest do battle in Fitzgibbon Cup

The reigning champions can book their quarter-final berth with a win in Castletroy this evening. Limerick colleges UL ...
Read More