TEAM | John Kiely names unchanged lineup for Munster final clash with Clare

Cathal O’Neill remains in the starting line up where he is named at centre-forward, while Cian Lynch is chosen on the bench.

Limerick manager John Kiely has named an unchanged team from the win against Cork for the huge Munster SHC final meeting with Clare this weekend. It’s a repeat of last year’s final, as the Shannonsiders look to overcome Brian Lohan’s side for the second year in a row and win their fifth consecutive Munster final.

Kiely has gone with what he knows, opting not to make any changes to the side he put out against Cork. It means Cathal O’Neill remains in the side, named to start at centre-forward, while Cian Lynch is selected on the bench.

O’Neill is flanked by Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey, two men who have had contrasting championships so far. Former Hurler of the Year Hegarty has failed to find his form, although he has been showing signs of improvement of late. Morrissey, on the other hand, has arguably been the Treaty’s best player this year, scoring 0-12 across four games, and the Ahane man will be vital if Limerick are to prevail on Sunday.

25 March 2023; Cathal O’Neill of Limerick in action against Conor Stakelum of Tipperary as Johnny Ryan of Tipperary looks on during the Allianz Hurling League Division 1 Semi-Final match between Limerick and Tipperary at TUS Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. Photo by John Sheridan/Sportsfile

Limerick’s top scorer Aaron Gillane is joined in the full-forward line by the county’s biggest goal threat in Seamus Flanagan, with Peter Casey rounding out the forwards, the Na Piarsaigh man scored five points against Tipperary in the 2021 Munster final.

Diarmaid Byrnes starts at half back as expected, the man from Patrickswell broke the championship scoring record for a defender last time out, and will be hoping to add to his tally when he meets the Banner, who he scored 0-5 against back in April.

Amongst the bench there are a number of changes with David McCarthy, Ronan Connolly and Oisin O’Reilly coming into the 26.

Limerick team to face Clare:

  1. Nickie Quaid – Effin
  2. Mike Casey – Na Piarsaigh
  3. Dan Morrissey – Ahane
  4. Barry Nash – South Liberties
  5. Diarmaid Byrnes – Patrickswell
  6. Declan Hannon – Adare
  7. Kyle Hayes – Kildimo/Pallaskenry
  8. Darragh O’Donovan – Doon
  9. William O’Donoghue – Na Piarsaigh
  10. Gearoid Hegarty – St Patricks
  11. Cathal O’Neill – Crecora/Manister
  12. Tom Morrissey – Ahane
  13. Aaron Gillane – Patrickswell
  14. Seamus Flanagan – Feoghanagh/Castlemahon
  15. Peter Casey – Na Piarsaigh
  16. David McCarthy – Glenroe
  17. Conor Boylan – Na Piarsaigh
  18. Ronan Connolly – Adare
  19. Aaron Costelloe – Kilmallock
  20. Colin Coughlan – Ballybrown
  21. Adam English – Doon
  22. Richie English – Doon
  23. Cian Lynch – Patrickswell
  24. Grame Mulcahy – Kilmallock
  25. Oisin O’Reilly – Kilmallock
  26. David Reidy – Dromin/Athlacca

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Doon edge Ahane to sneak into quarter-finals | Saturday SHC Round Up

All six Group 1 teams were in action on Saturday evening, with wins for Doon, Na Piarsaigh and ...
Read More

Favourites clash and last quarter-final berth in SHC up for grabs | Saturday Hurling Fixtures

Nine games to choose from this Saturday with knockout berths up for grabs in the senior, premier intermediate ...
Read More

Ladies Senior and Intermediate championships down to the semi-final stage

Ballylanders await St Ailbe's in the first semi-final, while Oola will take on Monagea for a spot in ...
Read More

South Liberties’ goal rush secures safety as Garryspillane fall to relegation

Barry Nash and Tom Ryan both bagged a double with Anthony Nash rounding out his club career with ...
Read More

Games of years gone by recounted in new a book about Limerick’s greatest hurlers 

The book leads the reader through 30 games from the point of view of former and current Limerick ...
Read More

Four final round games to be streamed live by Limerick GAA TV

The senior championship promotion decider between neighbours Mungret St Pauls and Ballybrown will be streamed live from Clauaghaun. ...
Read More

Final knockout places up for grabs in Senior, Intermediate and Junior Hurling Ranks | Final Round Fixtures

There are games to be played across all four of Limerick hurling's top tiers this weekend, with knockout ...
Read More

St Senans secure big win to top Intermediate group with Mungret St Pauls also into semis | IFC, PJAFC & JAFC Round Up

There were a number of games played over the weekend across the second, third and fourth tiers of ...
Read More