Treaty’s Slow Start Continues with Cobh Defeat

Treaty United’s winless start to the Airtricity League First Division season continued on Friday night as they succumbed to a 0-3 defeat to Cobh Ramblers at the Markets Field. Three second half goals from Wilson Waweru and Jack Doherty x2 ensured that Shane Keegan’s men maintained their unbeaten start.

Treaty made once change from last weekend’s draw with Kerry as Willie Armshaw dropped to the bench and was replaced by Success Edogun. Perhaps more surprisingly, last season’s top goalscorer Enda Curran was positioned as a supporting second striker behind Dean George in a 4-2-3-1 formation with Conor Barry on the left and Edogun on the right. Andy Spain partnered Anthony O’Donnell in central defence once more. Cobh made two changes to the side that drew with Longford last week with Issa Kargbo and Pierce Phillips replacing Tiernan O’Brien and Luke Desmond.

In the opening three minutes, the visitors put pressure on Treaty from corner kicks and it was from the second phase of a corner that Michael McCarthy had the first shot of the game but the right-back watched his effort sail over the crossbar. Good interplay between Conor Barry and Enda Curran allowed the latter to come in off the left-wing and curl a shot towards goal but it was easily saved by Lee Steacy.

Three minutes later, Curran fought hard to retrieve possession in the penalty area in a duel with Charlie Lyons and his cross in the direction of Barry was gathered just in time by Steacy. Midway through the first period, Cobh were comfortable in possession and a powerful driving run and pass from McCarthy on the right sent the pacey Wilson Waweru clear but he blasted a shot high and wide under pressure from Andy Spain.

Tommy Barrett’s side finished the half much stronger with Barry hanging a perfectly waited cross to the back post for Curran but the striker mistimed his jump and the save was easy for Steacy. Marc Ludden had a quiet night by his standards but his clever short free-kick to Curran ended in a deflected effort from the striker which hit the post and his second effort was blocked. As the ball was recycled, Barry’s strike travelled just wide. Moments later, referee Jason Moore blew the whistle for half-time which came at the wrong time for the home side.

At the beginning of the second half, Edogun appeared to be winning his battle with Cobh left-back Cian Browne as he burst past the former Waterford man before producing a shot which Steacy saved at the near post. Edogun beat his man once more before delivering a cross into the box but no Treaty player was anticipating in the area.

On the hour mark, Ramblers took the lead as Issa Kargbo’s blistering run took him past the challenges of both Ludden and O’Donnell and his cross found Doherty but the playmaker’s miscued shot found its way back to the alert Kargbo who flicked the ball in the direction of the awaiting Waweru who had the easy task of finishing from close range despite the suspected offside calls from Treaty.

Things got worse for the home side when Curran was dispossessed by a combination of Browne and substitute James O’Leary with the latter floating perfectly waited ball over the Treaty defence for the alert Doherty who took a touch to set himself before coolly finishing past Shane Hallahan who was making his home debut. With seven minutes remaining, Doherty doubled his tally and ensured the points were heading back to St. Colman’s Park when Anthony O’Donnell’s loose pass was seized upon by Luke Desmond and he played the former Wexford man in and he lifted the ball over Hallahan to score.

Treaty finished quite strongly with Armshaw forcing a save from Steacy and Curran’s header travelling just over the crossbar but it was another disappointing night for the home side who will now face Athlone Town at the Athlone Town Stadium on St. Patrick’s Day. Cobh now face into a top of the table clash Galway United at St. Colman’s Park

Treaty United: Shane Hallahan, Ben O’Riordan, Andy Spain, Anto O’Donnell, Marc Ludden (Steven Christopher), Mark Walsh (Colin Conroy 76), Lee Devitt, Conor Barry (Willie Armshaw 68), Success Edogun. Enda Curran, Dean George (Alec Byrne 76)

Cobh Ramblers: Lee Steacy, Michael McCarthy, Brendan Frahill, Charlie Lyons, Cian Browne (Callum Stringer 87), Issa Kargbo (James O’Leary 72), Jason Abbott, Pierce Phillips (Daragh O’Sullivan-Connell 87), Dale Holland (Luke Desmond 68), Jack Doherty, Wilson Waweru (Tiernan O’Brien 72)

Social Sharing

Posted in

Treaty United welcome Kerry FC to Markets Field for First Division clash

Just three points separate the pair in the league table, although the Shannonsiders have played a game fewer ...
Read More

Both Treaty United Senior teams in LOI action in the Markets Field this weekend

In recognition of this rare weekend of double action, the club are offering a special double ticket price ...
Read More

Treaty’s Wexford trip subject to pitch inspection

The sides met four times last season, as Treaty failed to win a single meeting. Wexford picked two ...
Read More

Treaty United fall to Athlone defeat | HIGHLIGHTS

Despite tasting defeat again, Treaty still boast the second best defence in the league, with five goals conceded ...
Read More

Tommy Barrett’s men on the road again for Athlone Town clash

Treaty boast the second best defence in the league, leaking just four goals in their six games, and ...
Read More

Treaty United suffer first loss of the season to Finn Harps | HIGHLIGHTS

It was a tight game on Friday night, with Tony McNamee's strike ten minutes from time the only ...
Read More

Premier Division stalemate while Ballingarry move closer to promotion

There was a handful of games across the divisions this bank holiday weekend. There was also two outstanding ...
Read More

Treaty United welcome Finn Harps to Markets Field

Both sides have picked up 11 points this season, although Harps have played one more game than their ...
Read More