Two championship debutants included as Limerick name team for Clare

Iain Corbett has recovered from injury to take his place at centre back of the XV. He is joint captain of the team with Donal O’Sullivan.

Mark Fitzgerald has named two championship debutants in his Limerick XV to take on Clare in the Munster Championship semi-final this Saturday.

Barry Coleman (Rathkeale) is named at wing back with Cathal Downes (Kildimo Pallaskenry) in midfield alongside Cillian Fahy. In positive news for Limerick, Iain Corbett has recovered from injury to take his place at centre back of the team. He is joint captain of the team with Donal O’Sullivan who continues in goal.

In total, eleven of the side that started last year’s Munster quarter-final win over Clare are included in the XV. Jim Liston comes into the side at wing back with James Naughton, who was Limerick’s top scorer in the league also included with the debutants.

Josh Ryan misses out through injury with Adrian Enright suspended for the clash. Gordon Brown drops to the bench with Darragh Treacy yet to feature this year.

Ruadhan O’Connor, Liam O’Sullivan, Jack Ryan and Cormac Woulfe could all make their senior debuts from the bench

Limerick will have home advantage for the tie as they seek back-to-back Munster final places for the first time since 2010. But they face a formidable Clare, who were fifteen-point winners in their March League encounter and also beat Cork already in this championship campaign.

Throw in this Saturday is at 7pm in the TUS Gaelic Grounds.

Limerick team to play Clare

  1. Donal O’Sullivan Monaleen
  2. Mike Donovan Galbally
  3. Seán O’Dea Kilteely/Dromkeen
  4. Brian Fanning Pallasgreen
  5. Barry Coleman Rathkeale
  6. Iain Corbett Newcastlewest
  7. Jim Liston Gerald Griffins
  8. Cillian Fahy Dromcollogher/Broadford
  1. Cathal Downes Kildimo/Pallaskenry
  2. Cian Sheehan Newcastlewest
  3. Colm McSweeney Gerald Griffins
  4. Paul Maher Adare
  5. James Naughton St.Senans
  6. Brian Donovan Monaleen
  7. Hugh Bourke Adare
  8. Aaron O’Sullivan Pallasgreen
  9. Gordon Brown Na Piarsaigh
  10. David Connolly Adare
  11. Tommy Griffin Gerald Griffins
  12. Davy Lyons Adare
  13. Tony McCarthy Kildimo/Pallaskenry
  14. Peter Nash Kildimo/Pallaskenry
  15. Ruadhan O’Connor Newcastlewest
  16. Liam O’Sullivan Kildimo/Pallaskenry
  17. Jack Ryan Dromcollogher/Broadford
  1. Cormac Woulfe St.Senans

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Defending champions put daylight between themselves and chasing pack | SHC Odds

Mungret St Pauls secured promotion to go with their quarter-final place by virtue of a win over Ballybrown ...
Read More

Two quarter-final berths remain to be filled in Limerick JAHC

The quarter-finals and relegation play-offs continued to take shape with still voids to be filled following a weather ...
Read More

Quarter-Final places up for grabs in IHC as weather wreaks havoc on final round | IHC Recap

Four of the final six spots in the Intermediate championship are confirmed with two games left to play ...
Read More

Effin book semi-final berth with four teams level on points in race for knockouts | PIHC Round Six Recap

In front of the Limerick GAA TV cameras, Effin moved clear at the top of the PIHC table ...
Read More

Lynch the hero as Mungret stave off Ballybrown to secure SHC promotion

Conor O'Brien never looked troubled in the Mungret net as O'Brien finished off their scoring with a superb ...
Read More

Senior, Intermediate and Junior Hurling Championship group stages conclude | Sunday Hurling Fixtures

In the senior championship, the standout tie pairs neighbours Mungret St Pauls and Ballybrown where the winners will ...
Read More

Doon edge Ahane to sneak into quarter-finals as Na Piarsaigh secure top spot | Saturday SHC Round Up

All six Group 1 teams were in action on Saturday evening, with wins for Doon, Na Piarsaigh and ...
Read More

Favourites clash and last quarter-final berth in SHC up for grabs | Saturday Hurling Fixtures

Nine games to choose from this Saturday with knockout berths up for grabs in the senior, premier intermediate ...
Read More