Ardscol Rís kick off Harty Cup campaign against Nenagh CBS

The Harty Cup returns today after a year absence due to the Covid pandemic.

Ardscoil Rís travel to Sixmilebridge today to face Nenagh CBS in the first round of the 2021/22 Dr Harty Cup with throw in at 1.30pm. It is a return to post primary schools action for both schools who missed out on the entirety of last season when the competition was cancelled.

The winner of Monday’s clash will receive a bye into the quarter-finals with the loser into round two. The loser of the first round clash will play Gaelcholaiste Mhuire an Mhainistir Thuaidh on Monday November 24.

The north circular road outfit are Limerick’s sole representative in the competition and will be seeking a first title since 2018.

20 February 2016; Joint captains, Peter Casey, left, and Nathan Fox, Ardscoil Ris, lift the Dr. Harty Cup. Dr. Harty Cup Final, Ardscoil Ris v Our Ladys Templemore, McDonagh Park, Nenagh, Co. Tipperary. Picture credit: Sam Barnes / SPORTSFILE

Ardscoil Rís will be backboned by a number of Limerick’s Munster minor winning squad of 2020 in the form of Shane O’Brien, Vince Harington, Cian Scully and Dylan Lynch to name a few.

The City school won their first ever title in 2010 and repeated the following year with Declan Hannon and Shane Dowling as joint captains. Current Limerick stars Cian Lynch (2014), Peter Casey and Jerome Boylan (2016) and Ronan Connolly (2018) have since lifted the trophy for the Limerick school.

Their opponents in the first round have yet to lift the prestigious tournament having reached four finals, the most recent in 2012.

The winners of today’s tie wont be in action until the new year with the quarter-finals to be played on January 8.

There are six games down for decision in the opening round with the winners of St Joseph’s Tulla and DeLaSalle and the victors in Midleton CBS’s clash with CBC also receiving byes into the quarter-finals.

St Flannan’s are the defending champions having won the 2020 championship. They play Thurles CBS in the the first round.

Harty Cup Round One Fixtures

Gaelcholaiste Mhuire an Mhainistir Thuaidh Bye

Thurles CBS v St Flannans College Ennis

Caashel Community College v Our Lady’s Templemore

Blackwater Community School v St Colman’s College Fermoy

St Joseph’s Tulla v DeLaSalle Waterford (Winner receives bye into quarter-finals)

Midleton CBS v CBC (Winner receives bye into quarter-finals)

Ardscoil Rís v Nenagh CBS (Winner receives bye into quarter-finals)

Social Sharing

Posted in

Champions Limerick bow out to red hot Rebels

Limerick 0-29Cork 1-28By Tom Clancy at Croke ParkLimerick's most remarkable run ended after a narrow, two-point loss, after ...
Read More

TEAM: Limerick make two changes to side to face Cork

John Kiely and his backroom team have made two changes from the starting XV that faced Clare in ...
Read More

Kingston Promises Intensity from “The Minute the Ball is in Play Right to the Very End”

For Shane Kingston and his Cork teammates, the journey to this point had been anything but straightforward, marked ...
Read More

Hannon on Success & Setbacks as Limerick Look Forward to Rebel Rematch

Limerick will do battle with a familiar foe in Cork this weekend as all roads lead to Croke ...
Read More

Hegarty: ‘There is a lot more to life outside of hurling”

In association with Bord Gais Energy. With six Munster and five All Ireland medals to his name, Gearóid ...
Read More

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More