Kilkenny edge out tireless Limerick

Limerick 0-13

By Tom Clancy in St. Brendan’s Park, Birr.

Limerick came agonisingly close to the shock of the weekend as they fell just short to All Ireland holders Kilkenny. The Littlewoods Ireland Camogie Leagues Division One quarter-final, played in Birr, was eventually wrestled the way of the Cats, thanks to a late flurry of scores.

For Pat Ryan’s Limerick, they were unable to hold on the narrow lead they had at the first half water break, half time and at the second half water-break.

Caoimhe Costello once again top scored but this week she was helped by six others on the scoresheet.

Limerick found themselves 0-4 to 0-2 to the good at the first half water-break, with a trio of Costello frees added to by Rebecca Delee. Kilkenny kicked up a gear and scored their first goal from close range through Mary O’Connell. But Limerick fought back with Megan O’Mara and Sophie O’Callaghan firing over.

At the interval, Limerick were a point ahead, 0-8 to 1-4.

This lead was maintained by the 45 minute mark, with Costelloe, Aine Cunningham and Niamh Ryan cancelling out efforts from Denise Gaule (two frees) and Miriam Walsh. Aoife Norris denied Aine Cunningham a goal as Limerick looked threatening up front.

Pat Ryan

But disaster struck on 50 minutes as O’Connell found her second major. She finished at the second attempt after a brilliant save from Laura O’Neill. The Cats got a real scare as Limerick showed their true form after a disappointing loss to Galway last weekend.

In the end, Limerick were left to rue a trio of goal chances missed and also 10 wides, as they fell just short of the defending All-Ireland champions and league finalists from 2016 – 2019.

Ryan will hope to re-ignite the work-rate and quality play seen for the Championship in the coming weeks.

Denise Gaule 0-6 (0-4 frees, 0-1 ‘45’); Mary O’Connell 2-0; Laura Murphy 0-2; Miriam Walsh, Katie Nolan 0-1 each.

Caoimhe Costello 0-7(0-1 ‘45’, 0-5 free);  Rebecca Delee, Megan O’Mara, Sophie O’Callaghan, Áine Cunningham, Niamh Ryan, Dearbhla Egan 0-1 each.

Laura O’Neill (Na Piarsaigh); Marian Quaid (Bruff), Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), Róisín Ambrose (Newcastle West); Mairead Ryan (Clooney Quin), Judith Mulcahy (Ahane), Niamh Ryan (Bruff); Megan O’Mara (Monaleen), Karen O’Leary © (Newcastle West); Deborah Murphy (Newcastle West), Sophie O’Callaghan (Adare), Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West); Áine Cunningham (Killeedy), Caoimhe Costello (Adare), Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen)

Subs: Neamh Curtin (Ballybrown) for Megan O’Mara (46), Aisling Scanlan (Killeedy) Rebecca Delee (49), Dearbhla Egan (Crecora) for Sophie  O’Callaghan (53).

Kilkenny: Aoife Norris; Michelle Teehan, Collette Dormer, Miriam Bambrick; Kellyann Doyle, Grace Walsh, Meighan Farrell; Niamh Deely, Laura Murphy; Denise Gaule, Mary O’Connell, Aoife Prendergast; Katie Nolan, Miriam Walsh, Aoife Doyle.

Subs: Steffi Fitzpatrick for Aoife Prendergast (41),  Lydia Fitzpatrick for Grace Walsh (41), Laura Norris for Laura Murphy (49), Sarah Walsh for Mary O’Connell (51).

Referee: John Dermody (Westmeath).

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH | “It will take a lot to overcome them” | Jimmy Lee as NCW prepare for the Nire’s visit in Munster Club championship

Newcastle West will have home advantage this Saturday as they welcome the Nire in the Munster Club Football ...
Read More

VOTE | Kyle Hayes’ Munster Final magic nominated for Goal of the Year

Hayes is one of ten nominees for the TG4 award. "Goal of the year and it's only July!"Marty ...
Read More

Kilmallock and Mungret St Pauls both set for Gaelic Grounds as Munster Club Championship fixtures confirmed

The Limerick hurling champions will be in Munster club championship action next weekend. Kilmallock's clash with Midleton in ...
Read More

OPINION: Limerick’s poor record in Munster Club this decade makes for grim viewing

The Munster Club Championships continue this weekend with three Limerick sides in action. For the first time since ...
Read More

Limerick drawn with Clare as Cork and Kerry paired in Munster Football Championship

Billy Lee's side will be on the road in the 2022 Munster Senior Football Championship quarter-final. Limerick will ...
Read More

Fixtures confirmed as Limerick set for All-Ireland final rematch in 2022 Munster Championship opener

The draws for the 2022 Provincial championships were confirmed on Saturday afternoon. Limerick will travel to Pairc Ui ...
Read More

Monagea book their place in Munster Intermediate Ladies Football Final

Monagea will contest the decider on December 11 hoping to add provincial honours to the county title they ...
Read More

Adare claim Junior double after comprehensive win over Athea in Ladies Football Final

Adare will ply their trade in the Intermediate ranks in both Camogie and Ladies Football next year. Adare ...
Read More