Limerick see off Tipperary in dramatic Munster U-20 Football quarter final

Limerick will play Kerry in the Munster U-20 Football Championship semi final after they beat Tipperary at Mick Neville Park last night.

Barry Coleman was the match winner for Jerry O’Sullivan’s side as his point three minutes into added time proved to be the winning one.

O’Sullivan’s charges will now play his native Kerry in the last four clash next week at a Limerick venue.

Tipperary made a bright start to the game with the first two points, but James Cummins soon had Limerick on the board.

Mark O’Meara restored Tipperary’s two point advantage with a sensational point from the right wing.

However, Limerick went in at the break down by one point after Eoin O’Mahony scored the first of two marks.

Limerick made a brilliant start to the second half as points from Brian Foley, Rory O’Brien, O’Mahony and John Hayes saw them lead 0-6 to 0-3 going into the final 10 minutes.

Tipperary fought back to level going into added time, but Coleman booked Limerick’s spot in the last four with his late, late show.

Limerick Scorers: Eoin O’Mahony 0-2 (2marks), James Cummins, Brian Foley, Rory O’Brien, John Hayes (1f) and Barry Coleman 0-1 each.

Limerick: Ronan McElligott; Cormac Woulfe, Craig Carew, Ruadhan O’Connor; James Garvey, Adam Shanagher (Captain), Barry Coleman; Liam Kennedy, James Molyneaux; James Cummins, Brian Foley, Rory O’Brien; John Hayes, Eoin O’Mahony, Colm Ryan.

Subs: Bryan Nix for Ryan (46 mins), Darragh O’Keeffe for O’Brien (52 mins), Cathal McCarthy for Garvey (57 mins), Shane O’Donoghue for O’Mahony (64 mins).

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: Banogue and Knockane contest epic 2019 JBFC Final

Tonights Limerick GAA action from the archive is last years Junior B Football Championship between Knockane and Banogue. ...
Read More

WATCH: Limerick meet Waterford in the 2007 Munster Intermediate Hurling Final

Tonights Limerick GAA action from the archives is the 2007 Munster intermediate final between Limerick and Waterford in ...
Read More

WATCH: 2018 Minor Premier Hurling final between Garryspillane and Patrickswell

For our Saturday night GAA action from the Archive, we go back to the 2018 Minor Premier Hurling ...
Read More

WATCH: Kilmallock face Na Piarsaigh in the 2018 Limerick SHC semi-final

For our Saturday night action, we go back to 2018 to the Limerick SHC semi-final between Na Piarsaigh ...
Read More

WATCH: 2018 Limerick SHC semi-final between Patrickswell and Doon

Tonight's Limerick GAA action from the archives is the 2018 Limerick Senior Hurling Championship semi-final between Patrickswell and ...
Read More

TG4 to broadcast the Limerick SHC clash between Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock

Limerick Senior Hurling Championship is set to be televised on TG4 from July. TG4 confirmed on Friday that ...
Read More

No water carrier but water breaks as GAA reiterate new rules for return to play

Ahead of the return to championship action in the GAA from next week, the association have drawn up ...
Read More

Reeling in the Years: Limerick GAA’s 2017

Our Reeling in the Years of Limerick GAA continues today as we go back to 2017 as the ...
Read More