Monagea book second successive Munster Ladies Foorball final spot after seeing off Fergus Rovers

Last year the West side were beaten in the decider as they booked a return to that stage on Saturday.

Monagea are back in the Munster Ladies Intermediate Football Final after they saw off Fergus Rovers on Saturday afternoon.

The West side were full value for an 0-11 to 0-4 win in Lissycasey.

After beating Kerry’s Dr Crokes in the quarters, Monagea were pre match favourites but struggled to convert in the early parts despite the aid of a breeze with the teams splitting just a pair of scores in the opening ten minutes. The Clare side opened the scoring but Monagea hit back in the sixth minute.

They extended that lead to double scores, 0-4 to 0-2 after twenty minutes which was 0-7 to 0-3 at the turn of ends.

The Limerick outfit kicked off the second half scoring and limited their opponents to just point in the final half as they ran out comfortable seven point victors.

That score didn’t come until the 44th minute, by which time Monagea had moved into a 0-10 to 0-4 advantage.

And the Limerick champions rounded out the scoring late on to make it six successive championship wins this season.

They will return to the Munster final in a fortnight’s time where they will face Tipperary’s Mullinahone. The Premier side came out on top in their clash with Waterford’s Erins Own with a 3-7 to 1-7 victory.

Elsewhere, Oola also have a Munster final to look forward to as they beat Firies to qualify for the Junior final.

The East side were impressive in seeing off the Kerry side 4-11 to 0-8 in the Kingdom.

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Kiely’s management team confirmed for 2024

Joe O'Connor returns to the fold as High Performance Manager, joined by John Flavin who comes into the ...
Read More

Donal O’Sullivan announces intercounty retirement

The news that the Monaleen man is retiring from intercounty football will be greeted with great disappointment. Limerick ...
Read More

Lacklustre Na Piarsaigh bow out to Ballygunner

Na Piarsaigh slumped to a four point loss in their Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship semi-final, against Ballygunner ...
Read More

Aaron Gillane wins 2023 Hurler of the Year

Patrickswell sharpshooter Aaron Gillane crowned a superb 2023 for both himself and Limerick by claiming the 2023 All ...
Read More

Limerick rewarded with magnificent seven All-Star spots following remarkable four-in-a-row

The Treaty County lead the way with Kilkenny capturing five places, Clare having two and Galway's Conor Whelan ...
Read More

Newcastle West exit Munster championship after Clonmel Commercials loss

Jimmy Lee's men bowed out of the provincial championship after a seven-point loss in FBD Semple Stadium on ...
Read More

‘1973: Keeping the Dream Alive‘ officially launches at the Woodlands

Limerick's 1973 All-Ireland win has been commemorated with the release of this new book, which was launched on ...
Read More

Newcastle West clinch three-in-a-row while Mungret promoted to Senior | Football Finals Round-Up

Jimmy Lee's men won by the minimum in the TUS Gaelic Grounds, with Mungret St Paul's getting past ...
Read More