On This Day: Kiely’s men fall in League semi-final in 2017 but win out in 2006 quarters

On this day four years ago, John Kiely’s Limerick hurlers fell to Galway in the League semi-final in the Gaelic Grounds. in 2006, they were successful in the quarter-final stages, beating Waterford.


A below-par Limerick were made to pay as Galway rolled over John Kiely’s side 1-21 to 1-11 in the National Hurling League semi-final in the Gaelic Grounds.

The sides traded points early on with Shane Dowling clipping over a couple of frees. Galway’s threat from their inside forward line was on display from the start and the trio of Conor Whelan, Conor Cooney and Cathal Mannion hit eight from play in the first half between them.

Limerick were offered a lifeline after 20 minutes with William O’Donoghue’s goal bring the deficit back to 0-7 to 1-3. But Limerick failed to kick on from the tonic as Galway outshot them six to two in the final 15 minutes of the half.

That gave the Tribesmen a 0-13 to 1-5 advantage at the break.

Kiely’s side did have the deficit back to a goal on 56 minutes as they limited the away team to just two scores in the first twenty minutes of the second period.

But then Cooney struck for goal to effectively take the wind out of the Limerick sails. Five more Galway scores followed as the Tribesmen eased into a first League final since 2010 with ten points to spare.

Conor Whelan gets past Mike Casey in the 2017 National Hurling League semi-final between Limerick and Galway


Limerick advanced to the League semi-finals after defeating Waterford 0-21 to 0-14 in Semple Stadium.

Despite dominating territorially, Limerick were guilty of inaccuracy as they failed to put a lacklustre Desie away.

10 first half wides were a real concern for Joe McKenna’s side as they lead by the minimum, 0-8 to 0-7 at the interval.

Donie Ryan extended the gap after the restart but Waterford were to hit a purple patch in the third quarter.

With Ken McGrath imperious at centre-back, the Deise took control and scores from Dan Shanahan and John Mullane had them into their first lead of the game after 50 minutes.

Ryan would equalize for Limerick and from here on in, they would reassume control of the contest.

Mark Keane, Andrew O’Shaughnessy and Stephen Lucey pushed Limerick into an unassailable lead. Waterford had a chance to reduce the margin with a penalty but it was deflected wide with Keane and Ryan on hand to further punish the Deise late on.

16 April 2006; Andrew O’ Shaughnessy, Limerick, in action against Denis Coffey, Waterford. Allianz National Hurling League, Division 1 Quarter-Final, Waterford v Limerick, Semple Stadium, Thurles, Co. Tipperary. Picture credit: David Levingstone / SPORTSFILE

Social Sharing

Posted in

Stunning second half sees Limerick footballers off to a winning league start

Limerick got off to a flying start in Division 3 of the Allianz Football League Division 3 South ...
Read More

Power Rankings: Galway the early pace setters in the National Hurling League

Last weekend the Allianz National League kicked off with all 12 top-tier teams in action. There were few ...
Read More

Treaty Talk EP136: Hurlers kick off league with a draw as Footballers and Camogie start season

Matt and Jack are back to discuss the upcoming weekend of GAA action across the county. They look ...
Read More

TEAM: Billy Lee names Limerick side for Tipperary League visit

Billy Lee has named his first Limerick Senior Football squad for 2021 ahead of Saturday's league clash with ...
Read More

Gearoid Hegarty honoured by Gaelic Writers’ Association

Limerick's Gearoid Hegarty was one of four winners at the 2020 Gaelic Writer's Association Awards. Hegarty, who was ...
Read More

Billy Lee confirms 40-man Limerick Senior Football Squad for 2021

Limerick Senior Football manager Billy Lee has confirmed a 40-man squad for the 2021 season. Limerick kick off ...
Read More

Allianz Expands Exclusive GAA Offers For Limerick Fans

€20,000 will be made available for GAA supporters to win for their GAA clubs by Allianz. To mark ...
Read More

Split Season confirmed for Camogie after 53% vote in favour

The National Camogie League will be followed by the All-Ireland championship as the Camogie association confirmed a split ...
Read More