Round Up | Kildimo Pallaskenry promoted to group one of the SHC with South Liberties into the quarter-finals

A final round win confirmed a third promotion in five years for the City side with results elsewhere helping South Liberties.

Kildimo Pallaskenry booked their place in group one of the Limerick Senior Hurling Championship for 2023 after picking up a fourth successive win on Saturday afternoon.

The city side saw off Garryspillane 0-23 to 0-19 to seal their place in the top tier and this year’s quarter-finals.

It is a third promotion in five years for KP who were Intermediate champions in 2017 and Premier Intermediate winners in 2020.

They are joined in the quarter finals by South Liberties who were 3-17 to 1-19 winners over Ballybrown. That allowed them to leapfrog the city rivals by virtue of their head to head record.

Mungret St Pauls’ draw with Blackrock helping Liberties in that regard with Ballybrown holding a superior scoring difference to every side heading into the final round of games.

In Caherconlish, Garryspillane, who knew a final round win could have seen them usurp Kildimo Pallaskenry, started brightly and went ahead early on.

By the half, KP and Garryspillane were deadlocked at 0-11 apiece. At the same time, a trio of South Liberties goals had them cruising against Ballybrown, Tom Ryan (2) and Barry Nash netting which put them in the driving seat to join KP. Blackrock led led Mungret St Pauls 1-12 to 1-11 at the break, Niall Mulcahy and Ruairi O’Shaughnessy trading green flags.

Garryspillane and Kildimo Pallaskenry continued to trade scores into the second half before a couple of Shaun Barry frees pulled them two clear. At the same time, South Liberties kept their distance from Ballybrown but Niall Mulcahy’s second goal pulled Mungret ahead, which had them level on points with Liberties and the Clarina outfit with Ballybrown holding the scoring advantage.

Kildimo Pallaskenry then moved five clear to ensure their place atop the group one table with Blackrock drawing level elsewhere to allow Liberties the chance for second, which they duly obliged holding out for the win despite a late Ballybrown goal.

The results see Kildimo Pallaskenry top the group, Liberties second, Ballybrown third, Mungret St Pauls, fourth, Garryspillane fifth and Blackrock sixth,

Tomorrow, the standings in group one of the SHC will be confirmed with Na Piarsaigh playing Ahane, Doon meeting Kilmallock and Patrickswell facing Adare.

Social Sharing

Posted in

ODDS | Newcastle West favourites to retain their SFC crown as six remain in the hunt

Jimmy Lee's side won all five games in group one after their final day victory over Fr Caseys. ...
Read More

Catriona Davis hails “extra-special” Ladies SFC triumph as Monagea retain crown

It was the first time in their history that Monagea retained the Ladies Senior Football Championship title. Monagea ...
Read More

Quarter-Final fixtures confirmed for Limerick Senior, Intermediate & Junior Football Championships

The group stages of the championships came to an end over the weekend with the the knockout stages ...
Read More

SFC Round Up | Newcastle West and Adare confirm semi-final spots as group stage concludes

The final six in the Limerick Senior Football Championship is set after the concluding round of the group ...
Read More

Monagea retain Limerick Ladies Senior Football title against St Ailbes

The girls from the West retained their title for the first time in their history after a tense ...
Read More

PREVIEW | Limerick Ladies SFC Title on the line as St Ailbes and Monagea face off once more

The undefeated teams meet in a titanic Limerick Ladies SFC Final this weekend. Familiar faces do battle in ...
Read More

Friday Quiz | Can you name the Last 16 Limerick SHC quarter-finalists?

There are sixteen teams to get in today's quiz related to the Limerick Senior Hurling Championship. After an ...
Read More

Team of the Championship | Limerick SHC Group Stages

The Limerick Senior Hurling Championships came to a close over the weekend with six teams still in the ...
Read More