The Limerick Masters head to Waterford for first ever Championship Game

McCarthy has named a 36-man Limerick squad for the 2023 Masters football championship with Mountcollins’ Maurice O’Connor as captain.

The Limerick Masters Football team play their first ever competitive championship game this Saturday when they take on Waterford in Kirwan Park in Touraneena at 2pm.

`It is the the first of six championship games for Limerick. They will be in home action in three weeks time when they welcome Kerry to Kileedy on May 27. They then host Laois before games with Westmeath, Roscommon and Cork to come.

Overall there are 23 teams in the championship with county’s assigned to respective grades at the conclusion of the league stage which concludes with the game against Cork on July 29.

The team is managed by Kilteely Dromkeen’s Anthony McCarthy. He has Aidan O’Sullivan (Bruff) and Jason Daly (Ballysteen) as selectors. Katie Lynch is the team’s physio.

McCarthy has named a 36-man Limerick squad for the 2023 Masters football championship. Maurice O’Connor of Mountcollins captains the side which has representatives from 22 different clubs in the county.

Ronan McGee (Hospital Herbertstown) and Eddie Mulcahy (Pallasgreen) are vice-captains to O’Connor.

2023 will be Limerick’s first venture into the championship and they are best represented by Dromcollogher Broadford who have five players chosen including a number from the dominant side of the 00’s who won seven Limerick SFC titles in 15 years.

Patrickswell native and three-time Hurling All-Star Ciaran Carey is a notable inclusion in the squad.

McCarthy and O’Connor recently joined the Treaty Talk podcast to discuss the formation of the team and their preparation for the championship.

Please accept YouTube cookies to play this video. By accepting you will be accessing content from YouTube, a service provided by an external third party.

YouTube privacy policy

If you accept this notice, your choice will be saved and the page will refresh.

2023 Limerick Masters Football Panel

John O’Kelly, Ray Lynch, Micheal Reidy, Ben Noonan and Marty Stokes (Drom Broadford), Dermot Phelan, Michael Geary, Liam Mulchay and Gary Campbell (St Patricks), Trevor Cosgrave, Denis O’Connor and John O’Connell (Knockane), Wesley Fitzgerald and Michael O’Donoghue (Claughaun), Michael Moloney and Derek Connacughton (Caherconlish), Joe Mulcahy and Paul Casey (Killeedy), Sean Carey and Paul Darmody (Ahane), Eddie Mulcahy and James McMahon (Pallasgreen), Maurice O’Connor (Mountcollins) (Captain), Ollie Dowling (Knockaderry), Seamus Lenihan (Fr Caseys), Joe Teefy (Ballybricken Bohermore), Matthew Hanley (Kilteely Dromkeen), Damien Mullaney (Castlemahon), Ciaran Carey (Patrickswell), Andrew Breedy (Galtee Gaels), Karl O’Regan (Camogue Rovers), John Lynch (Feenagh Kilmeedy), Ronan McGee (Hospital Herbertstown), John Doyle (St Kierans), Darren Kavanagh (St Senans), John O’Sullivan (Bruff)

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Champions Limerick bow out to red hot Rebels

Limerick 0-29Cork 1-28By Tom Clancy at Croke ParkLimerick's most remarkable run ended after a narrow, two-point loss, after ...
Read More

TEAM: Limerick make two changes to side to face Cork

John Kiely and his backroom team have made two changes from the starting XV that faced Clare in ...
Read More

Kingston Promises Intensity from “The Minute the Ball is in Play Right to the Very End”

For Shane Kingston and his Cork teammates, the journey to this point had been anything but straightforward, marked ...
Read More

Hannon on Success & Setbacks as Limerick Look Forward to Rebel Rematch

Limerick will do battle with a familiar foe in Cork this weekend as all roads lead to Croke ...
Read More

Hegarty: ‘There is a lot more to life outside of hurling”

In association with Bord Gais Energy. With six Munster and five All Ireland medals to his name, Gearóid ...
Read More

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More