Watch: Limerick lose to Offaly in opening round of Camogie Championship

Limerick lose to Offaly in opening round of Camogie Championship.

John Tuohy’s Limerick side suffered a one point defeat in their opening round of the All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship.

The faithful county got the better of Limerick on a 2-18 to 3-14 scoreline in what was a top quality exhibition of hurling with some superb scores from both sides.

A Derbhla Egan goal inside the first minute got Limerick off to the best possible start but the Munster Champions then fell off the pace as Offaly assisted by a significant breeze added 8 unanswered points.

Ahane’s Niamh Mulcahy dragged Limerick back into contention with three points in succession. Before Aisling Scanlon registered Limerick’s second goal. Mulcahy added another point before the break as Limerick went into he break trailing by just one point.

Offaly came out after the break with a renewed purpose while Limerick were slow to get the pitch off the game. The beaten Leinster finalists scored 1-3 without reply to re-establish their lead.

Second half goals from Aisling Scanlon and Mairead Fitzgerald kept Limerick in the hunt for a win but it wasn’t going to be enough as their efforts fell just short.

Up next for Limerick is a re-run of their Munster final with Cork in two weeks time. Shorn of 9 players for this game due to exams, injuries and other circumstances, John Kiely should have most of the absentees back for their next outing.

You can see full highlights of today’s game on the link below. Video courtesy of the Camogie Association.

Highlights: Offaly 2-18 Limerick 3-14

VIDEO: Highlights from Offaly's narrow win over Limerick in the Liberty Insurance Ireland All-Ireland Senior Championship!#RaiseTheBarOffaly Camogie Limerick Camogie Munster Camogie Leinster Camogie Ulster Camogie Connacht Camogie Official GAA Offaly GAA LimerickGAA

Posted by Camogie on Saturday, June 10, 2017


LIMERICK: Laura O’Neill, Lorraine Mc Carthy, Muireann Creamer, Sinead Mc Namara, Niamh Ryan, Sarah Carey, Judith Mulcahy, Karen O’Leary, Caoimhe Costelloe,Deborah Murphy, Cliona Lane, Niamh Mulcahy (Captain) Dearbhla Egan, Rebecca Delee, Aisling Scanlon. Subs Used: Orla Curtin, Sarah Collins, Mairead Fitzgerald.

OFFALY: Mairead Jennings, Lorraine Keena, Jean Brady (captain), Fiona Stephens, Aisling Brennan, Michaela Morkan, Linda Sullivan, Orlaigh Kirwan, Roisin Egan, Mairead Daly, Triona Mc Donald, Tina Hannon, Debbie Flynn, Siobhan Flannery, Arlene Watkins. Subs:

Social Sharing

Posted in

FIXTURES | Round Three of Football Championships commences this weekend after five-week break

It's been over a month since round two of the football championship due to the return of hurling. ...
Read More

PIHC Round Up | Bruff and Glenroe level at the top after third round action

Each of the eight teams were in action for the third successive weekend with the table beginning to ...
Read More

HIGHLIGHTS | A goal fest between the Limerick and Tipperary Legends as the Shannonsiders prevail

The legends from both counties joined forces to raise money for a very worthy cause on Saturda afternoon. ...
Read More

FIXTURES | Second Round of games set for 3Dental Ladies Football Championships

Following an eventful opening weekend, the second round of the 3Dental senior, intermediate, junior A and junior B ...
Read More

Treaty Talk EP195 | Club Hurling Championship Second Round Review & 2022 Top 10 Hurlers

Episode 195 of the podcast has a special guest with Matt O'Callaghan on holidays. Jack Neville is joined ...
Read More

PREVIEW | Newcastle West and Monaleen prepare for fascinating battle in Premier Intermediate Championship

The Rathkeale of the clash is the third of four games in the championship this weekend. Monaleen and ...
Read More

HIGHLIGHTS | Bruff overcome sloppy start to see of Dromin Athlacca in PIHC

Bruff and Dromin Athlacca played out an entertaining game in front of the Limerick GAA TV cameras on ...
Read More

Sporting Limerick to livestream legends charity clash between Tipperary and Limerick

The game takes place on Saturday afternoon in Boher with all proceeds going to Crumlin Children's hospital. "Old ...
Read More