WATCH: Magic from O’Dwyer sends Monaleen into the Munster IHC Final

Monaleen are into the Munster Intermediate Hurling Championship Final following a 2-13 to 0-16 win over St Joseph’s Doora Barefield in Kilmallock.

A scoring total of 1-6 from centre forward Mark O’Dwyer did the damage for the city side. His 55th minute goal proved crucial as Doora Barefield had just began to take control.

Monaleen made a fast start following the opening score from the Clare side by Tom Hannon. From the puck out, Ed Doyle made a superb catch before offloading to O’Dwyer.

He made his way towards goal, drew the defender and hand passed to Donnacha Ó Dalaigh, who shot past Paul Madden and into the roof of the net.

It was a tight affair throughout but that goal gave Monaleen breathing space, despite the best efforts of Alan O’Neill and Davy Conroy for Doora Barefield.

Luke Murphy and Lorcan Lyons kept the scoreboard ticking over and a couple of late frees saw Monaleen lead 1-6 to 0-5 at half time aided by a strong breeze.

Hannon opened the second stanza with two excellent scores but two O’Dwyer frees ensured a solid response by the Limerick Premier Intermediate champions.

Conroy got Doora Barefield got back into it with a couple of placed balls of his own. Ó Dalaigh added to his goal to stem the tide but two excellent Cathal Ruane points squared the game.

Hannon’s fourth of the game then saw the Clare team go in front for only the second time but O’Dwyer pulled the contest back Monaleen’s way with a stunning goal.

He fought off several would be tackles before finding the top corner while falling to the ground to put Monaleen two points to the good once more.

Eoin Brislane’s men held off the Doora Barefield wave in the final stages to land a place in the decider against Tipperary champions Roscrea.

Scorers: Mark O’Dwyer 1-6 (6f), Donnacha Ó Dalaigh 1-2, Luke Murphy and Ed Doyle 0-2 each, Lorcan Lyons 0-1.St Joesph’s Doora Barefield: Davy Conroy 0-6 (4f), Tom Hannon 0-4, Alan O’Neill and Cathal Ruane 0-2 each, Cian Barron and Senan Crosbie 0-1 each

Monaleen: Jamie Power; Leo Morrison, Bryan Canny, Jamie Porter; Darren Golden O’Mahony, Lorcan Lyons, Ronan Lyons; Joseph Fitzgerald, Lochlann McHale; Dan Power, Mark O’Dwyer, John Nicholas; Donnacha Ó Dalaigh, Ed Doyle, Luke Murphy.

Subs: Andrew La Touche Cosgrave for Golden O’Mahony (23), David Moloney for Nicholas (37, inj), Simon Griffin for Morrison (49 mins), Ben Hayes for Porter (68 mins).

St Joseph’s Doora Barefield: Paul Madden; Fionn Kelleher, Jarlath Colleran, Brian Clancy; Jack Hannon, Darragh McMahon, Adam Mungovan; Darragh O’Shea, Darragh Nagle; Alan O’Neill, Davy Conroy, Tom Hannon; Cathal Ruane, Eoin Hanrahan, Cian Barron.

Subs: Brian Guilfoyle for Clancy (43), Senan Crosbie for Hanrahan (51), Donal O’Halloran for McMahon (57), Matthew Power for Ruane (60).

Referee: Ciaran O’Regan (Cork)

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Kiely’s management team confirmed for 2024

Joe O'Connor returns to the fold as High Performance Manager, joined by John Flavin who comes into the ...
Read More

Donal O’Sullivan announces intercounty retirement

The news that the Monaleen man is retiring from intercounty football will be greeted with great disappointment. Limerick ...
Read More

Lacklustre Na Piarsaigh bow out to Ballygunner

Na Piarsaigh slumped to a four point loss in their Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship semi-final, against Ballygunner ...
Read More

Aaron Gillane wins 2023 Hurler of the Year

Patrickswell sharpshooter Aaron Gillane crowned a superb 2023 for both himself and Limerick by claiming the 2023 All ...
Read More

Limerick rewarded with magnificent seven All-Star spots following remarkable four-in-a-row

The Treaty County lead the way with Kilkenny capturing five places, Clare having two and Galway's Conor Whelan ...
Read More

Newcastle West exit Munster championship after Clonmel Commercials loss

Jimmy Lee's men bowed out of the provincial championship after a seven-point loss in FBD Semple Stadium on ...
Read More

‘1973: Keeping the Dream Alive‘ officially launches at the Woodlands

Limerick's 1973 All-Ireland win has been commemorated with the release of this new book, which was launched on ...
Read More

Newcastle West clinch three-in-a-row while Mungret promoted to Senior | Football Finals Round-Up

Jimmy Lee's men won by the minimum in the TUS Gaelic Grounds, with Mungret St Paul's getting past ...
Read More