Reeling in the Years: Limerick GAA’s 2003

Our Reeling in the Years of Limerick GAA continues today as we travel back to 2003!

Catch out previous years.


20002001, 2002



National Football League

After a number of positive years, Limerick finally earned promotion to Division 1 as they topped the pile in Division 2A with six wins from seven.

As they did the previous year, Liam Kearns’ side started with three successive wins over Leitrim, Antrim and London.

Defeat was their lot in round four against Westmeath.

But they regrouped for three more wins over Offaly, Louth and Wicklow to earn top spot ahead of Westmeath.

In the Division 2 semi-final they played Wexford who finished second in Division 2B.

Here they were victorious 2-13 to 0-7 to set up a rematch with Westemath in the final.

However, the Leinster side would continue to have their number as they won out by a point, 1-16 to 2-12 in the decider.

Nonetheless, the main goal of promotion had been secured.

Munster Football Championship

Limerick’s progress would finally bear fruit in 2003 as they picked up a first Munster championship win since 1991 as they put Cork to the sword in Pairc Ui Chaoimh, winning 0-16 to 0-6.

That was Limerick’s first win over the Rebels in almost fifty years and set up a tie with Clare in the semi-final.

Munster Senior Football Championship Cork vs Limerick 11/5/2003 Limerick’s John Quane celebrates at the end of the match Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Tom Honan

Goals from Conor Fitzgerald and Johnny Murphy would help Limerick to a 2-14 to 0-12 win and a first Munster final in twelve years where they would face Kerry.

Limerick would play last years losing All-Ireland finalists in Killarney where the Kingdom’s experience would prove the difference as Dara O’Cinneide got the games only goal.

Munster Football Final Kerry vs Limerick 13/7/2003 Limerick’s John Quane and Declan O’Sullivan of Kerry Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan

Kearn’s youthful side eventually fell to a 1-11 to 0-9 defeat that saw them enter the qualifiers at round four, one step away from a first ever All-Ireland football quarter-final.

However, here they were paired with defending All-Ireland champions Armagh who proved far too strong, winning 4-10 to 0-11, ending Limerick’s season.

Armagh would go on to contest a second consecutive All-Ireland final.

20 July 2003; Armagh’s Stephen McDonnell scores his sides second goal. Bank of Ireland Senior Football Championship qualifier, Limerick v Armagh, Dr Hyde Park, Roscommon. Picture credit; Damien Eagers / SPORTSFILE *EDI*


National Hurling League

In an altered format, it was a tale of two leagues for Limerick. IN Division 1B, the Treaty were dreadful, losing to Cork, Offaly, Wexford and Tipperary, defeating only relegated Derry in the process.

However, they would then enter Division 2, where they would win each of their three games against Waterford, Laois and Dublin by an aggregate margin of seventeen points.

Munster Hurling Championship

In the quarter-finals of the championship, Limerick and Waterford played out an enthralling 4-13 to 4-13 draw in Semple Stadium with Conor Fitzgerald, Andrew O’Shaughnessy, Mark Foley and Niall Moran netting.

Paul Flynn’s excellence would prove the difference in the replay a week later as he took his tally over the two games to 4-10, as the Deise ran out 1-12 to 0-13 winners.

In Round 1 of the qualifiers, Limerick played Munster neighbours Kerry who had come through the preliminary qualifiers.

A stubborn home side put it up to Limerick in Austin Stack Park before David Keane’s side pulled away for a 0-24 to 1-4 win.

Offaly awaited Limerick in Round 2 with the winners progressing to the quarter-finals to take on Tipperary.

However, the Faithful County had far too much for Limerick who fell to a 1-18 to 0-14 defeat in Thurles.

1 June 2003; TJ Ryan, Limerick. Guinness Munster Senior Hurling Championship, Limerick v Waterford, Semple Stadium, Thurles, Co. Tipperary. Picture credit; Brendan Moran / SPORTSFILE *EDI*

Club Championships


For the fourth time in five years, the winners of the Intermediate Championship of the previous summer would reach the senior final with Athea facing Drom Broadford.

Yet, Drom’s experience of winning the competition in 2001 would help them to a comprehensive 1-12 to 0-7 win over Athea.

Fellow West side St Senans won the Intermediate championship.

Bruree were crowned Junior A kingpins while Feenagh Kilmeedy won the Junior B Championship.


Familiar faces reigned supreme in the Limerick SHC as Patrickswell derailed Adare’s bid for three in a row, defeating the West side 1-13 to 0-14 in the decider.

This drew Patrickswell level with Ahane at the top of the SHC roll of honour with 18 titles.

In the intermediate championship, West side Tournafulla would run out as champions.

Feenagh/Kilmeedy added to their JAFC win as they took the Junior A hurling while Newcastle West were crowned Junior B winners.

Social Sharing

Posted in

TG4 to broadcast the Limerick SHC clash between Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock

Limerick Senior Hurling Championship is set to be televised on TG4 from July. TG4 confirmed on Friday that ...
Read More

No water carrier but water breaks as GAA reiterate new rules for return to play

Ahead of the return to championship action in the GAA from next week, the association have drawn up ...
Read More

Reeling in the Years: Limerick GAA’s 2017

Our Reeling in the Years of Limerick GAA continues today as we go back to 2017 as the ...
Read More

WATCH: South Liberties face Dromin Athlacca in the 2004 IHC Final

Tonight's Limerick GAA action from the Archives is the 2004 Limerick Intermediate Hurling Final between Dromin Athlacca and ...
Read More

WATCH: Adare and Patrickswell meet in the 2001 Limerick SHC Final

Tonight's Limerick GAA action from the archives is the 2001 Limerick Senior Hurling Final between Adare and Patrickswell. ...
Read More

Reeling in the Years: Limerick GAA’s 2016

Our Reeling in the Years of Limerick GAA continues today as we go back to 2016 as the ...
Read More

WATCH: 2000 Intermediate Football final between Gerald Griffins and Croom

Tonight's Limerick GAA action from the Archives is the 2000 Intermediate Clash between Gerald Griffins and Croom. Who ...
Read More

WATCH: 2010 All-Ireland Junior B Hurling Final between Rathkeale and St Martins

Monday night's GAA action from the Archive's is the 2010 All-Ireland Junior B Hurling final between Rathkeale and ...
Read More