Stoppage time heartbreak for Ardscoil Rís in Harty Cup final

There was stoppage time heart-break for Ardscoil Rís as they fell to St Joseph’s CBS Nenagh in the 2023/2024 Dr. Harty Cup final.

Leading by two points, a goal from Andy Hoolan with virtually the last action, gave the Tipperary school a maiden crown.

Liam Cronin’s side had led by two when Patrick Kearney added to Marc O’Brien’s free, with time nearly up. There was little to separate these two quality sides throughout, though Ardscoil had created a winning position with the two minutes of additional time elapsed.

The teams were deadlocked, 1-8 to 0-11 at half-time. Austin Duff’s goal brought Nenagh back into the tie after a decent first quarter from the Limerick school. Fintan Fitzgerald, Daniel Scully and Marc O’Brien were all on target but in reply Darragh McCarthy led the Tipperary tilt.

Level seven times in the second stanza, Ardscoil forged ahead with the time in the red. There was an initial save from Fionn O’Brien to deny Brian O’Meara. Ardscoil couldn’t clear, and they paid the ultimate price when Hoolan scrambled the sliothar home.

The South Circular Road college have a second chance of glory, with the All-Ireland series to start later this month.

Scorers for St Joseph’s CBS Nenagh: Darragh McCarthy 0-7 (0-4 frees); Austin Duff 1-1; Andy Hoolan 1-0; Eoghan Doughan 0-3; Mason Cawley 0-3; Ciaran Foley 0-2.

Scorers for Ardscoil Rís: Fintan Fitzgerald, Marc O’Brien (0-1 frees) 0-5 each; Danny Chaplin (0-2frees), Michael Collins 0-3 each; Eoin Begley 0-2; Darragh Gleeson, Daniel Scully, Patrick Kearney 0-1 each.

ST JOSEPH’S CBS NENAGH (all Tipperary): Simon Grace (Ballina); Conor Grace (Burgess), Cian Connolly (Nenagh Éire Óg), Gavin McGrath (Kiladangan); Jack Doran (Toomevara), Jake Hackett (Toomevara), Andy Hoolan (Moneygall); Ciaran Foley (Borrisokane), Mason Cawley (Nenagh Éire Óg); Jack Mulcahy (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Darragh McCarthy (Toomevara, Capt), Zack Keller (Nenagh Éire Óg); Aodhan O’Connor (Nenagh Éire Óg), Danny Quinn (Silvermines), Eoghan Doughan (Moneygall).

Subs: Austin Duff (Toomevara) for Quinn (25); Darragh Treacy (Silvermines) for Keller (48); Joe O’Dwyer (Burgess) for Mulcahy (51).

ARDSCOIL RÍS (Limerick unless stated): Fionn O’Brien (Bruree); John O’Keeffe (Na Piarsaigh), Sean McMahon (Smith O’Briens, Clare), Sean Morrissey (Dromin-Athlacca); James Finn (Na Piarsaigh), Jamie Moylan (Cratloe, Clare), Diarmuid Scully (Dromin-Athlacca); Riain McNamara (Cratloe, Clare), Matthew O’Halloran (Sixmilebridge, Clare); Diarmuid Stritch (Clonlara, Clare), Fintan Fitzgerald (Mungret St Paul’s), Michael Collins (Clonlara, Clare); Danny Chaplin (Sixmilebridge, Clare), Marc O’Brien (Cratloe, Clare), Eoin Begley (Clonlara, Clare).

Subs: Darragh Gleeson (Adare) for O’Keeffe (half-time); Patrick Kearney (Adare) for Chaplin (39); Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs) for O’Connor (55), Jack Cosgrove for Stritch (58), Sean Arthur (Newmarket on Fergus) for Collins (63).

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Cork)

Social Sharing

Posted in ,

Champions Limerick bow out to red hot Rebels

Limerick 0-29Cork 1-28By Tom Clancy at Croke ParkLimerick's most remarkable run ended after a narrow, two-point loss, after ...
Read More

TEAM: Limerick make two changes to side to face Cork

John Kiely and his backroom team have made two changes from the starting XV that faced Clare in ...
Read More

Kingston Promises Intensity from “The Minute the Ball is in Play Right to the Very End”

For Shane Kingston and his Cork teammates, the journey to this point had been anything but straightforward, marked ...
Read More

Hannon on Success & Setbacks as Limerick Look Forward to Rebel Rematch

Limerick will do battle with a familiar foe in Cork this weekend as all roads lead to Croke ...
Read More

Hegarty: ‘There is a lot more to life outside of hurling”

In association with Bord Gais Energy. With six Munster and five All Ireland medals to his name, Gearóid ...
Read More

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More